Help Terri Out

Seeking answers to the questions that plague me

How do you cook a medium rare prime rib roast in a normal oven?

I enjoy cooking, and I’ve been told I’m a really good cook. When I’m no longer a student, I hope to actually have time to cook. In all my years of cooking for my family, one thing has eluded me. A really nice roast, prime rib, specifically. Low and slow? I’ve got that down. Braising? I can manage that too, but to cook a prime rib or a loin so that it’s medium rare but browned on the outside? Nope. It always turns out too well done and dry. So the question is: How do you cook a medium rare prime rib roast? I should point out that my oven is nothing special, and getting a new one is not an option.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “How do you cook a medium rare prime rib roast in a normal oven?

  1. What I’ve found out: First, some basics. According to “How to Cook Everything” by Mark Bittman (a fantastic book, by the way, which I will probably purchase) the Prime Rib is not just any portion of the animal’s rib cage. The very best section is the smaller end, the twelfth through the seventh ribs. Before cooking, the roast must be brought to room temperature so take it out of the fridge at least an hour before you plan to put it in the oven. Bringing the meat to room temperature helps it to cook evenly and will prevent it from being overcooked on the outside and undercooked inside. Start the roast in a preheated 450 degree oven, this accomplishes two things: It sears the outside creating more flavor (that it “seals in juices” is actually a myth), but more importantly it kills any bacteria on the surface allowing the roast to then be cooked to doneness at a lower temperature safely. After about fifteen minutes (don’t open the oven door!) turn the oven down to 350 and roast for about an hour (again, don’t touch that door!!). After an hour check in several places with a meat thermometer, when you get a consistent reading of 125, you have a rare roast. If you like it more well done, cook 5 or 10 minutes more and check again. But don’t let it heat to more than 155. Remove it from the oven, cover with foil and let it rest for 15-30 minutes. Letting it rest allows the juices to redistribute, and it will increase by about another 5-10 degrees. I actually haven’t tried it yet, I’ll let you know how it goes when I do.

Leave a Reply

